E-ARC Review | Heart of Mist by Helen Scheuerer

34865933Title: Heart of Mist (The Oremere Chronicles #1)

Author: Helen Scheuerer

Publisher: Talem Press

Publication Date: August 31st 2017

Format: e-ARC

Page Count: 460

22

SYNOPSIS

In a realm where toxic mist sweeps the lands and magic is forbidden, all Bleak wants is a cure for her power.

Still grieving the death of her guardian and dangerously self-medicating with alcohol, Bleak is snatched from her home by the Commander of the King’s Army, and summoned to the capital.

But the king isn’t the only one interested in Bleak’s powers.

The leader of an infamous society of warriors, the Valia Kindred, lays claim to her as well, and Bleak finds herself in the middle of a much bigger battle than she anticipated.

Heart of Mist is the gripping first book in The Oremere Chronicles, a fantasy series of epic proportions.

Goodreads | AmazonUS | AmazonUK | AmazonAUS

22

MY RATING

★★★★★

22

MY THOUGHTS

*I received an e-ARC of this novel from the author in exchange for an honest review*

YOU GUYS. I don’t know if there are enough words in the human language to express how much I loved Heart of Mist but I shall give it a try.

I had a feeling that I was going to thoroughly enjoy this book even before I read it because I am a sucker for forbidden magic and secrets and anyone who goes by the name ‘Bleak’. I mean, who wouldn’t be?! What I wasn’t expecting was just how much I would end up adoring this book. It left me utterly speechless. I was mesmerized by the world and the writing from the very beginning!

The realm is plagued by a toxic mist that is spreading everyday and those who happen to come in contact with it, perish. People seek to be far from the mist but that can prove to be just as dangerous. Our main protagonist Bleak has a secret, which she has kept hidden for years from the ones she loves. She is an Ashai, meaning that she has powers. In a realm where magic is forbidden, Bleak’s secret can be deadly if it catches unwanted attention. Unfortunately, it has. The king, as well as the Valia Kindred, have taken an interest in her powers and who knows what their endgame is.

Bleak copes with her powers by drinking, and over time, she has grown to be a drunk This was the very first thing that caught my attention because alcoholism isn’t a topic that we see often in YA, especially if it pertains to the main character. I loved getting to see how she, as well as those around her, dealt with her addiction. It was very refreshing.

Another thing I loved was the characters. I fell for *most* of them the minute they walked onto the page. No one character was the same, except for the fact that they all have secrets of their own. As a result, it was fascinating to see how they each interacted with one another. Characters who you wouldn’t think would mesh well together ended up being perfectly paired, whether that be from a romantic standpoint or a friendship one. There was just a lot of bonding going on and I was here for all of it! Especially the friendship, or should I say bromance, between the king’s captain, Fiore (aka Fi the most precious), and Bren, Bleak’s best friend. I was one happy camper whenever they had a scene together. And the same goes for Henri and Athene, who happen to be bad-ass Valian warriors. I need more of them in my life!

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again. I absolutely love it when books are fast paced, are full of twists and turns, have action and romance, and can make me feel. Heart of Mist had this and more. I am currently dying of anticipation for the next book. Thank the heavens that there are two novellas, Break and The Gift, to tide me over. I desperately need to know what happens to my precious cinnamon rolls but that will have to wait.

If you’ve made it this far, I applaud you! My rambling has gotten worse with every passing day, and I’m sorry for that (not really), but before I sign off, ADD HEART OF MIST TO YOUR TBR! You can thank me later! Also, the cover is stunning so… definitely an added bonus to an already amazing story!!

P.S. I always thought the saying was “tie me over” but I discovered the sad, sad truth today.

22

AESTHETIC BOARD

BeFunky Collage

22

AND THAT CONCLUDES MY REVIEW! BE SURE TO ADD THIS BOOK TO YOUR TBR RIGHT THIS INSTANT! DON’T FORGET TO FOLLOW MY BLOG FOR MORE REVIEWS AND SHENANIGANS! UNTIL NEXT TIME!

withlovefernanda

 

54 thoughts on “E-ARC Review | Heart of Mist by Helen Scheuerer

  1. The dangerous mists & the ban on magic (more or less) made me think of the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. Anyway, this sounds like so much fun, definitely adding to my tbr pile!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t heard of this one before but it sounds amazing! That’s really interesting that it’s a YA dealing a MC having alcoholism. I don’t think I’ve ever really seen that before either. I also love action paced books! I’ll have to check this one out. Great review! 🙂

    Lauren @ Lauren’s Crammed Bookshelf

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It truly is! I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with that so I was really intrigued by it. It’s the right amount of action packed imo. Thank you! Also, checked out (+ followed) your blog and it is wonderful! 😍

      Like

  3. Your review was a beautiful summary and I am literally on edge hoping I can win the story so I can read it now 😭 It sounds incredible! I love how you gave just enough detail but not too much that it became a spoiler. You didn’t ramble at all! I loved reading your review and am about to add the book to my tbr right now! (:

    Thank you for sharing your views on the book and I look forward to reading more from you soon, take care, love ~ littlemusafira (sakina haych)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

