Top 5 Wednesday | Second Book is Best

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey and Samantha. You get a new topic every Wednesday, and you list your top 5 books related to the particular topic. This weeks topic is: Second Book is Best – We’ve talked about series that went downhill, and series that are worth it, but which series were best in the middle?

22

Fire by Kristin Cashore

Graceling was THE book that got me into fantasy so it’s safe to say that I loved it but Fire was something else! It blew it (and every other book) out of the water. Fire and Brigan were, and still are, the greatest otp of all time. I don’t remember much since it’s been years since I read this series soooooo it’s time for a re-read!!!

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I enjoyed Six of Crows but it wasn’t until Crooked Kingdom that I fell in love with the series. I felt so much more connected to the characters and the heists/scheming just got better!

Cress by Marissa Meyer

This may not be book 2 but it is in the middle of a series so it counts. HA. I love what Cress and Thorne brought to the crew and their relationship was perfection.

Fireblood by Elly Blake

I may be cheating with this one since the entire series isn’t completed nor is the second book out yet BUT I loved this one significantly more than Frostblood. Blake went more in-depth with the world and the characters (new and old) were much more interesting. You can check out my review here!

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Mass

I think we can all agree that ACOMAF was the best in the series, therefore, nothing else needs to be said,

22

AND THAT’S A WRAP ON MY TOP 5 WEDNESDAY! IN WHICH SERIES, WAS THE SECOND BOOK THE BEST? LET ME KNOW DOWN IN THE COMMENTS. UNTIL NEXT TIME!

withlovefernanda

28 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Second Book is Best

  1. Oh my gosh, ACOMAF was definitely the best book in the series.

    And I’m agree with Fire, too! I mean, I loved Graceling, but I LOVED Fire!! I love that book so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loooved Cress! And Crooked Kingdom was so great. It’s been forever since I’ve read the Graceling series but a lot of people mention Fire in particular so I’ll take your word for it 🙂 As far as other second books, I think Froi of the Exiles (book 2 in the Lumatere Chronicles) is amazing and the middle Harry Potters are all fantastic- I love series that get better with every book! While we’re talking SJM, Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire are the strongest books of the ToG series too, much better that ToG itself.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really need to reread the Graceling books!! I remember like 10% of those books ^^
    Yesss Cress is such a great book!!
    This year I’ve read quite a few sequels that I found as good or even better than book1! City of Betrayal, Heroine Worship, Age of Swords, Raven Stratagem… like I said, many! I haven’t read that many YA sequels though…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I mean, I remember some things that happened in Graceling (like Po and his sight) but that’s about it. 😅
      I’ve heard of a couple of those books but I don’t think I’ve read book one of any of them. So happy you enjoyed them!!

      Like

  4. second books in the series either suffer with trying to top the first one and failing or being brilliant, the only series i have read fully is Harry Potter and that peaked around Prisoner of Azkaban, not saying the other lot arent great, but that was the best book imo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

