ARC Review | Girls Made of Snow and Glass by Melissa Bashardoust

“She was blood and snow, and so she would be like the snow, like the pine needles, like the winter wind: sharp and cold and biting. Snow didn’t break or shatter, and neither would she.”

22

32768509

Title: Girls Made of Snow and Glass

Author: Melissa Bashardoust

Publisher: Flatiron Books

Publication Date: September 5th 2017

Format: ARC

Page Count: 372

22

SYNOPSIS

Frozen meets The Bloody Chamber in this feminist fantasy reimagining of the Snow White fairytale

At sixteen, Mina’s mother is dead, her magician father is vicious, and her silent heart has never beat with love for anyone—has never beat at all, in fact, but she’d always thought that fact normal. She never guessed that her father cut out her heart and replaced it with one of glass. When she moves to Whitespring Castle and sees its king for the first time, Mina forms a plan: win the king’s heart with her beauty, become queen, and finally know love. The only catch is that she’ll have to become a stepmother.

Fifteen-year-old Lynet looks just like her late mother, and one day she discovers why: a magician created her out of snow in the dead queen’s image, at her father’s order. But despite being the dead queen made flesh, Lynet would rather be like her fierce and regal stepmother, Mina. She gets her wish when her father makes Lynet queen of the southern territories, displacing Mina. Now Mina is starting to look at Lynet with something like hatred, and Lynet must decide what to do—and who to be—to win back the only mother she’s ever known…or else defeat her once and for all.

Entwining the stories of both Lynet and Mina in the past and present, Girls Made of Snow and Glass traces the relationship of two young women doomed to be rivals from the start. Only one can win all, while the other must lose everything—unless both can find a way to reshape themselves and their story.

Goodreads | AmazonB&N | Book Depository

22

MY RATING

★★★★☆.5

22

MY THOUGHTS

Girls Made of Snow and Glass was one of my most anticipated releases of 2017 so when I saw that there was a giveaway, I jumped on the opportunity straight away. Lucky for me, I was one of the winners who got to receive an ARC!!! *cue the dance party* Suffice to say that I was excited.And I started this beauty as soon as it arrived at my doorstep.

The story follows Mina, who is made of glass, and Lynet, who is made of snow. Due to her glass heart (and her father), Mina believes that she cannot be loved nor that she has the capability to love so she decides to become a queen in order to win the affection of the people. Due to her origins, Lynet as always been viewed and treated as delicate by practically everyone. But at the end of the day, they want more for themselves then what they were told.

“Like a butterfly,” Nadia said softly. “Something beautiful but frail.”

Let me start off by saying that I did not know I needed this feminist, Snow White retelling until I read the first chapter. I was hooked from the very beginning. The writing, the characters, and the world were captivating. I will say that it lost for a bit towards the middle, but I got back on track pretty quickly.

One thing I loved was how the first half of the book alternated between the past (Mina’s POV) and the present (Lynet’s POV). Mina’s chapters depicted when she first came to Whitespring Castle and her journey to becoming queen. I adored those chapters because we got to see a different side to her. We got to explore who she really was and it was great seeing her character progression since it then goes to being told in just the present for the latter half of the book.

Another thing I loved was seeing the relationship between Lynet and Mina develop and grow throughout the book. Lynet has admired Mina’s strength and fierceness for as long as she can remember and while Mina cared for Lynet, she also saw her as a threat to her crown. Although it may have had its cracks here and there, it still reflected the love they had for each other. They were flawed yet relatable and I felt for them every step of the way. The growth you see in both of these women is glass shattering.

I was surprised by one aspect and it was the queer characters. I was not expecting there to be any but I was B-L-E-S-S-E-D!!! I’m so happy because the relationship that ensued was precious and glorious and such a good slow burn!

I won’t say more because I want you guys to experience the magic that Girls Made of Snow and Glass has to offer!

22

AESTHETIC BOARD

BeFunky Collage

22

AND THAT CONCLUDES MY REVIEW! WHAT FAIRY TALE WOULD YOU LIKE A RETELLING OF? BE SURE TO ADD THIS BOOK TO YOUR TBR IF IT ISN’T ALREADY. DON’T FORGET TO FOLLOW MY BLOG FOR MORE REVIEWS AND SHENANIGANS! UNTIL NEXT TIME!

withlovefernanda

 

39 thoughts on “ARC Review | Girls Made of Snow and Glass by Melissa Bashardoust

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed it so much! I got an ARC from NetGalley and it’s next up on the TBR list! Now I’m even more excited than I already was!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This one sounds so good! I didn’t know much about it before but thought the title was great. Now that I know what it’s all about I’m even more intrigued 🙂
    Amazing review, Fernanda! I love retellings so much I’ll probably pick this one up soon ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

