ARC Review | They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

“We’re not dying because of love. We were going to die today, no matter what. You didn’t just keep me alive, you made me live.”

22

33385229Title: They Both Die at the End

Author: Adam Silvera

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publication Date: September 5th 2017

Format: ARC

Page Count: 368

22

SYNOPSIS

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure and to live a lifetime in a single day.

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

22

MY RATING

★★★☆☆.5

22

MY THOUGHTS

Let me start off by saying that I have never read a Silvera book. This was my first book by him and my expectations were already sky high. I was underwhelmed to say the least. I had gone in the the notion that I was going to fall in love with the story and that my heart was going to shatter into a million pieces. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case.

Mateo was reading a blog entry and Rufus was beating a guy senseless when they received a call Death-Cast, alerting them that they are going to die within the next 24 hours. They have no one to spend their ‘End Day’ with, so they each decide to make a profile on ‘The Last Friend’ app in hopes of finding a last friend. Someone to spend their last day with. After some rough encounters on the app, they find each other’s profile and start to talk. Although wary at first, they choose to meet up and to spend the day living.

While the story was very touching and I liked it, I just couldn’t connect with the characters. I didn’t feel for them, which is really odd for me because I will typically get attached to a character within a chapter of meeting them. Yes, I was sad during certain parts and when they died but it wasn’t as gut-wrenching as I was expecting/hoping  it would be. I didn’t even need the tissues that were sitting on my nightstand. Not a single tear was shed with the exception of  the “dear reader”  section at the beginning.

Even with that being said, I loved seeing Mateo bring out another side of  Rufus and vice versa. They growth that they both experience is great and it was heartwarming seeing them  connect. I wish they had more time together because their m/m relationship was beautiful! *cries because they won’t have a ‘forever’*

I honestly think I just over-hyped this book. I do intend on picking up Silvera’s other books and hopefully I’ll love them with all my heart!!

22

AESTHETIC BOARD

BeFunky Collage

22

AND THAT CONCLUDES MY REVIEW! HAVE YOU READ ANY OF SILVERA’S BOOKS? WHICH SHOULD I READ NEXT? BE SURE TO ADD THIS BOOK TO YOUR TBR IF IT ISN’T ALREADY. DON’T FORGET TO FOLLOW MY BLOG FOR MORE REVIEWS AND SHENANIGANS! UNTIL NEXT TIME!

withlovefernanda

22 thoughts on “ARC Review | They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

  1. I understand over-hyping a book. I’ve loved his previous two books but I can honestly say I didn’t cry…but I also don’t shed a tear at a lot of things that are emotional for me (it’s kind of random hit/miss in the crying dept for me), so I don’t see it as a litmus test. I did feel for the characters, though. I think social media hypes and perhaps exaggerates the crying thing with a lot of fandoms (thinking of musical theater in particular). His books are all a bit different though, so I hope you like the others more!

    Like

  2. I’ve never read his books and I’m sceptic about picking them up, I don’t know I just have a feeling of dread and me not liking the books that much, I don’t know why I feel this way. I also feel this way towards John Green.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah it’s always a shame when the plot is good but you don’t funny connect with the characters, especially when you’re excited to read a book! Think I’m still going to give this book a try at some point. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

