Review | Gemina by Amie Kaufman + Jay Kristoff

“Patience and Silence had one beautiful daughter. And her name was Vengeance”

22

29236299

Title: Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)

Author: Amie Kaufman + Jay Kristoff

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: October 18th 2016

Format: Hardcover

Page Count: 663

22

SYNOPSIS

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

22

MY RATING

★★★★☆.5

22

MY THOUGHTS

YOU GUYS. I FINALLY DID IT! I finally got over the very intimidating fact that Gemina is well over 600 pages long and I read it, kind of! I listened to the audiobook while following along with my physical copy so I read most of it.

The audiobook added a whole nother level of amazing-ness to the story. Like holy cow cows. I loved hearing the emotions, the contrast in tones, etc. from the voice actors as well as the added sound effects and music. It was so great and hilarious and magical and perfect!!! I can’t say enough about how fantastic this audiobook was. *heart eyes* I was missing out and I’m currently contemplating whether or not I should get the Illuminae audiobook and re-read it. But I digress (sort of).

The story shifts from Kady and Ezra to these two new characters, Hanna and Nik who are at the Jump Station Heimdall. Hanna is the captain’s daughter; Nik is a part of a crime family. They must put their differences aside to work together against BeiTech’s latest attack while also fighting off these very creepy and deadly alien predators.

I was blown away by this book. I loved it so much freaking much! It had me laughing out loud one second and then clutching my heart the next. There were so many plot twists and I was blindsided for all, well, most of them.

I loved that we got to see characters from Illuminae make an appearance because I missed them soooo much but the new characters were an absolute delight. Hanna gives off the “princess” and “daddy’s girl” vibes and while she is those things, she is soooooo much more. Her strength and determination and fierceness and resilience really surprised me.

And the same goes for Nik, a.k.a the bad boy with a heart of gold. The S-A-S-S is real in this one. The dialogue between Hanna and Nik was phenomenal and witty and swoon worthy. I loved Nik’s personality and his sarcasm and his ability to flirt in even the most dire of situations. Also, reading about his past tugged at my heart-strings because he deserves the world.

While there are both great characters, my little spider, Ella, stole my heart. She is a badass hacker and she’s fierce and sassy af.  Her chats with the crew were to die for and had me dying of laughter.

The only problem I had was that some information just went over my head when I was just listening and not reading along. I was lost at times as to what was going but that’s a “me” problem and has nothing to do with the actual book.

I HIGHLY recommend you read The Illuminae Files because they are extremely entertaining and the format is so unique. They are such quick and easy reads and if you can, listen to the audiobooks because they are out of this world!!!

22

AND THAT CONCLUDES MY REVIEW! HAVE YOU READ ILLUMINAE A/O GEMINA? IF SO, WHAT DID YOU THINK? DON’T FORGET TO FOLLOW MY BLOG FOR MORE REVIEWS AND SHENANIGANS! UNTIL NEXT TIME!

withlovefernanda

 

32 thoughts on “Review | Gemina by Amie Kaufman + Jay Kristoff

  1. I find it so interesting the audiobooks for these are good–it seems like such a visually dependent novel! But it’s good they adapted it well

    Like

  2. I’m surprised the audiobook is so good! I wouldn’t have thought that but I’ve heard that from you and others. Maybe if I ever reread, I’ll listen to the audiobook.
    Ella was my FAV! I wasn’t the biggest fan of Nik but Ella was everything I wanted from a strong female character (same with Hanna)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

