Book Review | The Hawkweed Prophecy by Irena Brignull

“It had touched her heart then. It broke it now.”

22

33608900

Title: The Hawkweed Prophecy (Hawkweed Prophecy #1)

Author: Irena Brignull

Publisher: Weinstein Books

Publication Date: August 15th 2017

Format: Paperback

Page Count: 384

22

SYNOPSIS

A stunning debut tells a bewitching story: two girls, one ancient prophecy. Only one can be queen of the witches.

Poppy Hooper and Ember Hawkweed couldn’t lead more different lives. Poppy is a troubled teen: moving from school to school, causing chaos wherever she goes, never making friends or lasting connections. Ember is a young witch, struggling to find a place within her coven and prove her worth. Both are outsiders: feeling like they don’t belong and seeking escape.

Poppy and Ember soon become friends, and secretly share knowledge of their two worlds. Little do they know that destiny has brought them together: an ancient prophecy, and a life-changing betrayal. Growing closer, they begin to understand why they’ve never belonged and the reason they are now forever connected to each other.

Switched at birth by the scheming witch Raven Hawkweed, Poppy and Ember must come to terms with their true identities and fight for their own place in the world. Enter Leo, a homeless boy with a painful past who – befriending them both – tests their love and loyalty. Can Poppy and Ember’s friendship survive? And can it withstand the dark forces that are gathering?

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

22

MY RATING

★★★☆☆.5

22

MY THOUGHTS

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

What had really caught my attention, aside from the cover, was the premise of the story.

It all started with a prophecy which proclaimed that in 303 years, a Hawkweed sister would give birth to a girl who would ascend to the throne and govern all the witches. And that time has come. Raven Hawkweed will do anything to ensure that it is her daughter, Sorrel, who claims the title of queen, even switching her sister’s baby with a human chaff’s (someone without magic) baby.

Poppy and Ember have never felt like they belonged in their family, their community, their world and that’s because they were switched at birth. And as fate would have it, they meet each other one day and a bond is formed between the two of them. With each other’s help, they discover who they truly are.

One thing that I loved was the friendship between both girls. They connected with each other instantly and cared deeply for one another. Of the duo, I especially loved Poppy because she was soooo selfless when it came to those she loved but at the same time I hated it because my heart ached for her whenever she gave something of herself up for others. My hopes for the next book, The Hawkweed Legacy, is that Poppy will put herself first (at least once). I did like Ember as well but I found her to be a bit annoying and frustrating at times. I understand why she acted this way and that but it still bothers me how she handled certain situations.

My one big issue with this book was the romance. It was instalove after instalove after instalove. Poppy fell for Leo the second they locked eyes and the same can be said for Ember and Sorrel, although her’s wasn’t necessarily love. It was more of a longing to feel and be wanted. It was kind of ridiculous and even though it was a bit much for me, I did enjoy the romance that blossomed between Poppy and Leo. I was rooting for them from the beginning and will continue to do so till the end of time. I just want them to be happy because they deserve it after everything.

Overall, it was an enjoyable read but it wasn’t a favorite of mine. I’ll definitely be picking up the sequel, The Hawkweed Legacy, as I am intrigued to see where Brignull takes the story (and romance) next.

If you’re looking for quick and easy read, full of magic and love and betrayal, then this is the book for you!

22

AESTHETIC BOARD

BeFunky Collage

22

AND THAT CONCLUDES MY REVIEW! DON’T FORGET TO FOLLOW MY BLOG FOR MORE REVIEWS AND SHENANIGANS! UNTIL NEXT TIME!

withlovefernanda

 

24 thoughts on “Book Review | The Hawkweed Prophecy by Irena Brignull

  1. I felt the same way; I liked a lot of the elements but I didn’t love the book overall. I did think the witchy elements were strong and I liked the individual characters and friendships but the romance was off. I’m a little ways into the sequel and it’s interesting so far!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I think for me, the “romance” between Ember and Leo wasn’t really believable or even needed. I would have personally liked it if Poppy and Ember had fallen for each other but oh well. And I’m so happy to hear that!

      Like

  2. I read this book about a year ago and while it definitely wasn’t perfect, it’s one of the better YA witch books I’ve read. I got the Hawkweed Legacy this week and I hope it improves on the first one. I don’t know why there had to be a romance sub-plot at all. It didn’t add anything and it was quite badly executed.

    Covers are gorgeous though! ><

    Like

  3. Pingback: IRL – Book Tag

Leave a Reply

