ARC Review | Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff

“That’s the power of words; twenty six little letter can paint a whole universe.”

22

23264671.jpg

Title: Godsgrave (The Nevernight Chronicles #2)

Author: Jay Kristoff

Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

Publication Date: September 5th 2017

Format: ARC

Page Count: 448

22

SYNOPSIS

A ruthless young assassin continues her journey for revenge in this new epic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Jay Kristoff.

Assassin Mia Corvere has found her place among the Blades of Our Lady of Blessed Murder, but many in the Red Church ministry think she’s far from earned it. Plying her bloody trade in a backwater of the Republic, she’s no closer to ending Consul Scaeva and Cardinal Duomo, or avenging her familia. And after a deadly confrontation with an old enemy, Mia begins to suspect the motives of the Red Church itself.

When it’s announced that Scaeva and Duomo will be making a rare public appearance at the conclusion of the grand games in Godsgrave, Mia defies the Church and sells herself to a gladiatorial collegium for a chance to finally end them. Upon the sands of the arena, Mia finds new allies, bitter rivals, and more questions about her strange affinity for the shadows. But as conspiracies unfold within the collegium walls, and the body count rises, Mia will be forced to choose between loyalty and revenge, and uncover a secret that could change the very face of her world.

GoodreadsAmazon | B&N | Book Depository

22

MY RATING

★★★★☆.5

22

MY THOUGHTS

*I received an ARC through a trade*

‘Byss and blood, I’m fucking speechless. Godsgrave exceeded ALL my expectations!

Let me just start off by saying that I really liked how Kristoff included a brief recap of what happened in Nevernight* in the beginning of the book because although I read it in December, I already forgot 80% of what had happened and who people were. And I’m not someone who rereads books so I would have been lost for a good portion of the book had there not been a recap.

Godsgrave picks up months after the final events in Nevernight but we aren’t left completely in the dark. And we get a “nice” change of scenery since we’re no longer at the Red Church. Mia is still hell-bent on getting her revenge and in order to do so, she hatches up a very dangerous and deadly plan. She will become a gladiatii, slaves who fight to the death in front of blood thirsty audiences, and hopefully win the magni. When the chapters transition to the past, 4 months back to be exact, Mia is doing the bidding of the Red Church and in one of her assignments, she meets up with an old foe who has secrets that they are more than happy to spill. Mia no longer knows who to trust but she does know what she must do: kill Scaeva and Duomo.

The writing, as per usual, was fantastic but I always find myself having a hard time getting into his books. I think it’s because Kristoff is very descriptive in his writing and his world is just very complex in general so I need a good 100 pages to ease into the story.

The only issue I had throughout the story was the footnotes.† I found that reading the footnotes, took me out of the story and made it harder for me to get back into it so I decided to stop reading them completely unless they were a sentence or two long.

What I loved most was seeing Mia grow as a character. We see a huge character transformation from book 1 to the end of book 2. She’s still a badass, fierce, snarky, arrogant, revenge-hungry assassin but we get to see her become this soft, trusting, caring person in Godsgrave. It surprised me at first but it was a nice and refreshing surprise if that makes sense. And I love her even more for it.

“Our scars are just gifts from our enemies. Reminding us they weren’t good enough to kill us.”‡

The ROMANCE had me feeling all sorts of ways! I was, and still am, head over heels for the enemies-to-lovers, slow-burn relationship that blossomed. It just touched my heart and made me feel all warm and fuzzy. Also, the sexy times were very steamy so if you’re not a fan, maybe skip over those particular scenes. This may very well be my favorite enemies-to-lovers ship so I will go down swinging if anything happens to them in book 3.

“Death is the only promise we all keep. This life we live… there is room in it for love, Mia. But a love like autumn leaves. Beautiful one turn. A bonfire the next. Only ashes the remainder.”

I’ve said this a million times but I’m a very emotional person when it comes to books. I get attached to *most* characters within seconds of meeting them, I don’t know why but I do. With that being said, I expected to shed a tear here and there while Godsgrave, and while that did happen, it also accomplished something that only a handful of books have accomplished. It made me truly feel. There is this one scene towards the end of the book that elicited a raw and heartbreaking emotion out of me. It ruined me in the best and worst way imaginable. I don’t want to go into much detail because of spoilers but I needed to let these feeling out even if in a very vague manner.

Another thing that I loved about Godsgrave was the action. It was filled with a whole lot of stabstabstab from start to finish and it was beautiful, if one can call it that.

I highly recommend this book if you love action, emotional roller coasters, a ton of plot twists, sexy times, badass and sarcastic characters, and fantastic writing!


*I read Nevernight in December and I really enjoyed! I loved the badass characters, the bloody plot, and the vulgar writing. You can check out my full review here but beware this was one of the first reviews I wrote so it’s pretty horrendous.

†You probably thought I’d have something insightful to say but no. I just like being a pain in the ass.

‡I’m honestly thinking about getting one of the aforementioned quotes tattooed lol.

22

AESTHETIC BOARD

godsgrave

22

AND THAT CONCLUDES MY REVIEW! HAVE YOU READ NEVERNIGHT? IF SO, WHAT DID YOU THINK? DO YOU PLAN ON READING GODSGRAVE? LET ME KNOW DOWN IN THE COMMENTS! DON’T FORGET TO FOLLOW MY BLOG FOR MORE REVIEWS AND SHENANIGANS! UNTIL NEXT TIME!

withlovefernanda

 

33 thoughts on “ARC Review | Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff

  1. *STOP READING IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK. COMMENT WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS*
    How about that threesome scene at the beginning?! Amaze balls right?!
    At first I totally did not want Mia and Ashlinn to get together bc of what she did to Tric, but I eventually got over it and by the end totally shipped them!! Ugh! Like yessss girl! Loved their intimate scene too!
    How about that twist?! Like damn, I thought Mia turned into a heartless bitch and I was so pissed I cried!!! Ugh! So glad everything worked out in the end!
    What the hell has Tric turned into?! Like WHAT?! That ending! Speechless!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *INCOMING SPOILERS. INCOMING SPOILERS*
      I spent a good 20 minutes reading those 4 damn pages!!!
      Haha I was on board that ship from the start because I am trash for any and every relationship. It took my about a week to finish it but every night I’d go back to their intimate scene and just read it over and over again. You could have also found my crying over the scene where Ash tells Mia she loves her and vice versa.
      OMG that scene ripped my heart out and pulverized it. At the time, I was so full of rage because I had so much hope and faith in Mia that she would figure out a way to not go through with it but she “did it” anyways.
      I have no clue and is he the thing Mia saw towards the beginning of the book?!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was so mad at Mia for killing everyone. I’m glad everything worked out!!! And yeah that thing at the beginning was Tric! I had a feeling he wasn’t dead when they couldn’t find his body! I’m so happy! He’s one of my fave characters. In the third book is it gonna be a love triangle?! I’m intrigued to see in which direction Jay takes the story.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Same! I was a bawling mess when that happened. And definitely! He was bound to be alive but now I wondering how? What is he? How did he become that thing? I have so many things running through my head. I hope not because I love Ash and Mia and I just want them to be happy! I need book 3 asap!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha your footnotes. It’s not often a fiction book has footnotes! I’ve only really encountered them in humorous books like Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and Discworld.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

