Top Ten Tuesday | Ten Books I Struggled to Get Into But Ended Up Loving

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is: Ten Books I Struggled to Get Into But Ended Up Loving or Ten Books That Were A Chore To Get Through or Ten Books I’ve Most Recently Put Down (the theme is…books you had a hard time with…tweak it how ever you need)

I tend to get hooked on a book pretty quickly but there are some exceptions. In regards to the books mentioned below, the main reason why it took me a while to get into them was the writing. It was great and all but it’s very descriptive and at times it can get to be a bit too much for me. Without further ado, here are the books I struggled to get into but ended up loving!

22

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

28145767

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

30312891

The Nevernight Chronicle by Jay Kristoff

26114463 23264671

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

30095464

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

17378527

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

19063

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

1656001

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

23395680

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

51738

22

AND THAT’S A WRAP ON MY TOP TEN TUESDAY! WHAT BOOKS DID YOU STRUGGLE TO GET INTO BUT ENDED UP LOVING? LET ME KNOW DOWN IN THE COMMENTS. UNTIL NEXT TIME!

withlovefernanda

 

44 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Ten Books I Struggled to Get Into But Ended Up Loving

    1. The same thing happened with me regarding Six of Crows. The first time I picked it up, I couldn’t even get past the first chapter. But it being Leigh, I knew I had to give it another go. Hopefully they’ll be easier to get into once you pick them up again!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I read the beginning of The Raven Boys but then returned it to the library because I didn’t want to read it at that moment so I might as well not keep it out of the library. I did like the style, though. A couple of my IRL friends adore it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I must be a weird reader, because yours is the 3rd list I’ve see The Book Thief on and I DEVOURED it. And I saw the movie beforehand as well! Hmm.

    The Raven King is showing up everywhere too! Make me chuckle, because every day I see one blog or another talking about how that is the BEST BOOK EVER. 😛 (I haven’t read it yet….. I KNOOOOOW.)

    Like

  3. I read a bunch of these, and I will admit, I had to get used to Maggie Stiefvater’s storytelling. It was odd, and I was struggling to see how it all fit together, but then it was all so clear, and I loved it! My thing with LoS is that the book is over 700 pages long, and Clare put a lot of stuff in the book that was awesome, but did not necessarily move the plot along. It was just there, and it made a long book longer. I did like it though.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “The Book Thief” is one of my favorite books. I read it during a holocaust literature course as part of the required reading. Many of the books on your list are books that I haven’t read, but I really want to read. As I keep hearing and seeing more reviews of the Nevernight Chronicles I keep wanting to read that series more and more! “The Bone Witch” is a book I keep meaning to pick up, but for some reason never actually gets picked up. I need to resolve that soon.

    Like

  5. I’m glad that you managed to end up loving them. I always find that if I can’t get into a book; there’s no is no going back for me. It just isn’t going to happen. It makes me sad because I love books too much ☹️😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

