Review | Tower of Dawn by Sarah J. Maas *Spoilers*

“I once lived in fear of other people. I let other people walk all over me just because I was too afraid of the consequences for refusing. I did not know how to refuse.” 

22

31450852

Title: Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children’s Books

Publication Date: September 5th 2017

Format: Hardcover

Page Count: 672

22

SYNOPSIS

In the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire.

Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken.

His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica—the stronghold of the southern continent’s mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them.

But what they discover in Antica will change them both—and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

22

MY RATING

★★★☆☆

22

MY THOUGHTS

Woooooooow. Okay so I have a lot to say about this book but have no idea where to begin.

When I first heard that Chaol was getting his own book, I was pretty indifferent towards it. I didn’t really have strong feelings of hate or love towards Chaol like many other people do. Yes, I liked him and I wanted to see what he’d been up to during the events of Empire of Storms but I just didn’t really care for him or even Nesryn for that matter. So you can imagine just how pumped I was for Tower of Dawn (woo!). I guess you could say that the only reason I picked this book up was because it’s vital for the seventh and final book in the Throne of Glass series. And let me tell you, it most certainly is.

While I didn’t hate this book, I also didn’t love it.

Tower of Dawn takes place at the same time that Empire of Storms does but it centers around Chaol and Nesryn’s adventures in the southern continent and their attempts at convincing the Great Khagan to ally with them as well as healing in general. There were so many characters that underwent tremendous growth and who were able to find themselves even when it meant going into the darkest of places within themselves.

Even though this book is almost 700 pages, I don’t think the space was well used. I found a good chunk of the book, mainly the first half, to be pretty slow and boring. And there was just so much to learn that it resulted in a lot of info dumps. There was also more emphasis put on world-building, which is understandable, than discovering the history of the valg, the healers, etc. The second half definitely did a better job at this and it also had a couple of action-packed and heart-wrenching scenes that kept me on my toes.

Before I get into rant mode, let me just say that yes, Chaol changes and grows and sees the error of his ways but I just want to be a bitter pineapple for once. Oh and, I’ll be breaking my review up into characters because it’d be an even bigger mess otherwise.

CHAOL AND YRENE

Oh boy. While I was somewhat interested in Chaol’s story towards the beginning of the book, his “I’m not a man anymore because of xyz” and his overall bs attitude and behavior got annoying real quick. I see and understand where he’s coming from but I couldn’t let it slide any longer. Now, I can’t speak for the disability rep but here are a few reviews that do: one, two, three, four.

Yrene on the other hand, I really liked. She is very loyal and brave and caring and all she wants is to help people but when Chaol, the former Captain of the Guard appears, she is put to the test. She doesn’t want to have anything to do with him because the King of Adarlan killed her mother and her people but she is going to have to push those feeling aside if she plans to help heal, not only him but herself as well.

The healing they go through together is great and their relationship is sweet but even with that being said, I was sooooo over Chaol and Yrene by the time I was halfway through the book. Their entire story arc didn’t interest me in the slightest nor could I connect with them whatsoever. Whenever they had a chapter, I would groan and beg that it’d be a page long so that I could move on to bigger and better things.

Also, there is ANOTHER secret wedding. Uh, what? I’m happy and all for Chaol and Yrene but really? Give us something new because third time wasn’t the charm.

NESRYN AND SARTAQ

The one shining light in this book was Nesryn and Sartaq. Give them all the awards because they stole the freaking show!!! Had it not been for them, and a select few other characters, I probably would have thrown this book across my room and left it there for eternity *gasp*

There’s this one scene that gutted me completely and it’s when Nesryn says

“She was fine with it, she told herself. She had been a replacement for not one, but two women in his life, A third one… She was fine with it, she repeated…”

I immediately burst into tears. It broke my heart hearing that because no one should feel that way. They should be with someone who makes them their priority, their number 1. Someone who makes sure that they know that they mean the world to them and that they are irreplaceable. GAAAAHHHH. I’m just so angry and upset. And any chance of me loving Chaol like I once did went out the window with that one scene.

I was so happy when they got together because Sartaq will cherish Nesryn like she deserves to be. You better believe I was jumping around my room, flailing like a pinwheel when Sartaq told Nesryn that he loved her. And now I just really want an entire series centered around them (and of course Kadara) because they are my new precious babies and they deserve the freaking universe. *heart eyes*

FALKAN

So Falkan is a new *cough not really because we see him in The Assassin’s Blade cough* character who just so happens to be a shape-shifter… hmmm I wonder what that could possibly be hinting at!?

Needless to say that my heart exploded of happiness when it was revealed that he was Lysandra’s uncle because he had searched for her as soon as he found out she existed and was still looking for her. I honestly can’t wait to see their reunion in ToG7 because it’s going to be beautiful even though I’m probably going to be a bawling mess!

MAEVE

Let’s talk about the big reveal…

“We wait for the Queen of the Valg,” the spider purred, rubbing against the carving. “Who in this world calls herself Maeve.” 

Can you hear that shrill scream? Well, that’s me. MAEVE IS THE FREAKING QUEEN OF THE VALG. NOT FAE BUT VALG. WHAT???? I stared at the page for a good 10 minutes because I was in shock. I still am and I have been in panic mode ever since because she has my precious Aelin (yes, I love Aelin… sue me!).

This isn’t even the full extent of my bitterness but it shall have to do for now lol.

Even with everything I’ve said, I have to give Maas credit where credit is due. She is phenomenal at writing these mind-blowing plot twists and for wreaking my heart and shattering every last bit of hope I have.

Side note: I discovered a new bookish pet peeve of mine while reading this book and it’s the line “I think I knew, even then.”. That line made like 5 appearances in ToD and I’m so over it at this point. Whenever I saw it I’d groan and scream “LIEEEESSSS. STOP LYING.” This line is basically my “I let out a breath I didn’t know I was holding” that so many people seem to find annoying.

P.S. I’m too bitter and upset to make an aesthetic board so I’m sorry. Forgive me please.

22

AND THAT CONCLUDES MY REVIEW! HAVE YOU READ TOWER OF DAWN? IF SO, WHAT DID YO THINK? I’D LOVE TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS! AND DON’T FORGET TO FOLLOW MY BLOG FOR MORE REVIEWS AND SHENANIGANS! UNTIL NEXT TIME!

withlovefernanda

31 thoughts on “Review | Tower of Dawn by Sarah J. Maas *Spoilers*

  1. I love that you linked to more than one perspective on the disability rep. Since this one is apparently essential to the finale of the series, it will be interesting to see if everyone who “needs” to read it reads it…obviously the Internet is there if you’re a big fan, but is it marketed as essential? And if you don’t like the characters, is it worth reading? Hmmmm. This is why I don’t read series very often tbh

    Like

  2. I had to super skim this one, as I’ve only read Throne of Glass! LOL! I’m sad to see it got only 3 stars; but, not everything can get a full five-star rating! I’m excited to read through the rest of this series and just got Tower of Dawn as a gift! Love, Maggie

    Like

Leave a Reply

